Tracy Emin – My Bed

_76598450_emin1_624

Last week I was assigned another blog review. A 21st century artist and piece of my choice, I chose Tracy Emin, and I looked at one of her controversial pieces. Titled “my bed”

The piece is literally as depicted, it is Tracy Emin’s bed. She reportedly had nothing to contribute to her exhibition and decided to take her bed in and use that as her contribution.
It caused a lot of controversy due to there being various things that were not very savoury (aside from the fact that it is literally just a bed), such as used condoms and bottles of alcohol.

I personally am conflicted, as I find it rather tacky. Due to it just being a bed. However in another way I also have a respect of forms for Tracy Emin, as by doing this she shows that literally anything can be considered art, and can be exhibited. It’s very different from what you would expect, but in a way it sort of ‘works’ and underlines her intentions as an artist. This also shows an insight into the emotions that she felt while she spent the time in bed. It represents a lot of things that women of that generation went through. And knowing of her emotional work from before and the story behind the piece gives an insight into her personality and feelings.

Leave a comment